top of page

Sleep/Wake Button - Further Development - Honours Blog 37

Updated: May 4, 2020

Recently I discovered an issue with the Sleep/Wake button I had designed for the bike. The full details can be read about here but in short - it just wouldn't fit. I had designed it based on other controls already on motorbikes, but after looking into it closer, I realised that the space I'd designed for was already occupied.

To get around this issue, I had to go back to the drawing board. In my last blog, I covered the rough sketches, and in this, I'll cover the slightly less rough sketches.


Taking inspiration from other motorbike handlebar accessories, I created the following sketches:



I'm not great at sketching, but I hope to bring the idea to life more when I bring the idea forward to CAD. I've realised that what I need to develop is a far more slim-lined button, and that means keeping the number of available features on it to a minimum. Also, the thinner the final design, the more versatile it will be when fitting to bike bars, as it will be able to fit in more locations. I am a bit disappointed that the initial design won't work, but nothing can be done about that, it just wouldn't work. Going forward, I'll be taking the designs into CAD, as this will allow me to work on the finer details as well as making any design tweaks along the way. That's all for this blog, Thanks!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page