top of page

HUD - Sketch Development - Honours Blog 32

Updated: May 4, 2020

To continue with the HUD (Heads Up Display) development, I took what I learned from 3D CAD models and tried to implement them in further sketch development. As I've mentioned in previous blogs, I like to jump to and from CAD throughout the development process, as I feel it gives me a better understanding of the shape I'm trying to build upon. The first initial sketches and rough CAD models can be read about here.

Now that I have a better idea of shape and size, I decided to head back to the drawing board to create more in-depth, detailed sketches.


I'm pretty happy with the outcomes of these development sketches, as there are a few designs in there that I feel might work well and fit in the overall feel of the product I'm trying to create.

For the complete product (consisting of the Bike Kit, HUD, and Quick Access Button) to have a sense of consistency through the design, each part will have to be fairly similar in design. I don't want there to be any inconsistency throughout the package, like its three separate products made to work together. Even though I won't be able to get most of the technology working (apart from the AI, which you can read about here), I still want everything to appear as uniform as possible.


Going forward, I want to get a proper idea of size/shape and how the product will connect to the helmet. I want to use 'Thinking Through Making' to help find my way around the mechanism, using rough prototypes and my motorbike helmet to come up with a way to fix everything on safely and securely.

That's all for today's blog,

Thanks!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page