top of page

Attaching the HUD to the Helmet - Honours Blog 34

Updated: May 4, 2020

In my previous blog (which you can read here) I adopted a 'thinking through making' approach to finding out accurately how the hud would look in person. During that exercise, I had to build a way for the HUD to connect to the helmet. Now obviously doing this with cardboard wasn't going to work 100%, but it did make it far easier to come up with a way to attach it in real life.



For years now bikers have been attaching accessories such as Bluetooth headsets and Go Pro cameras to their helmets, so there are already many tried and tested approaches to attaching kit. I knew I wanted to replicate the clip from a Bluetooth helmet, as many bikers are already familiar with this type of design. They're easy to attach to the helmet, slightly adjustable, and easy to clip the headset on and off without removing the entire clip every time.


This clip would work correctly, however, would need some redesigning as the HUD will be sitting slightly further up the helmet than a typical Bluetooth headset. This was an easy fix. I took to Fusion 360 to CAD a simple clip mechanism that would work with the helmet.



So far this clip design seems to work perfectly, and after making so slight adjustments to the HUD so it will clip in properly, I think it looks good!



I'll make any further adjustments tomorrow. Going forward I plan to test out how it fits with the helmet and making sure everything works together as intended.


That's all for today's blog,

Thanks!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page