top of page

The Summary Email - Development - Honours Blog 39

Updated: May 4, 2020

Over the last few weeks, I've been pulling together all the final design tweaks to the Blind Spot Detection Kit, leaving only one last part left to tackle - the Email. At the end of every journey, the bike kit will send a summary email to the rider, going over stats from their time on the bike. The most important stat is the amount of time spent in blind spots, but it will include other information too. Journey length and time, route, hints and tips are all things that will be included in the Email so that the rider can get a comprehensive overview of their trip. Now, having never designed an email before I wasn't too sure of the best place to start, so I decided to kick it off with what seemed the most logical; A sketch. The purpose behind this sketch is not to figure out the graphics or UX of the Email, but more for trying to figure out all the information to include. Think of it as a glorified list.


I feel like I need to be careful with this email. I don't want to include too much information, as that not the reason behind the kit. I feel once I start to add too much information that isn't related to the kit, such as maximum and average speed on the journey, the kit and email will run the risk of becoming a bit of a 'Fitbit' for motorbikes and encouraging competition between users. For that reason, I thought it best to keep information to a reasonable minimum So next up, I had to figure out what these sort of emails look like, and for that, I took to Pinterest. What was clear is that every email included multiple pictures with minimal text, which is a layout that won't lend itself well to the kits summary email. I have to find the balance between information and graphics, making sure the summary isn't bland and dull, or all graphics with little useful content. That's when it dawned on me. Even though I'm calling this an email, it's far more of an infographic. Infographics are a visual representation of information or data and will do a far better job at holding users attention while also communicating key stats from the trip. To give a few examples of what infographics could look like, I've attached a few examples below:



By using an infographic style for the email, it will allow me to prove all the data needed without boring the user with a dull UX. Infographics can draw in users attention and retain their focus while passing on information. Going forward, I think I'll use an infographic platform to make a prototype of the email, and then after I've got a good layout, I'll try and take the graphics into my own hands. That's all for this blog, Thanks!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page