top of page

The Summary Email - Developed Concept - Honours Blog 40

Updated: May 4, 2020

Recently I've been moving forward with the development of the summary email - the last bit of the Blind Spot Detection kit to be developed. The summary email is sent to the rider after every journey, summarising up all the data collected by the bike kit. In my last blog, I was having trouble coming up with a style for the email. I started by trying to pull inspiration from designs on Pinterest, but after a while, it was proving too difficult. Almost all of the examples included a lot of imagery and barely any text, along the lines of promotional marketing emails. After some time of trying to figure out a way to adapt these designs, it suddenly dawned on me. Even though I was calling it an email, the main structure of it was more like an infographic. Infographics are a visual representation of information or data, meaning they're a great way of spicing up information that might otherwise look bland. That was one of my main worries about the email. Its purpose is to communicate different stats with the rider, and if not appropriately presented could easily cause the rider to lose interest and not read the email at all. Infographics would solve this issue, making the information seem more attractive and holding the user's attention for longer. So to test this theory out, I took to an infographic builder and designed an email I thought would be visually stimulating enough to keep the user's attention.


I've got to say, I'm happy with the result. All the critical information is written in the coloured bubbles, with more in-depth writing to the side of it. This doesn't need to be the final writing, but it's to give an idea of how the information would be portrayed if the email were real. I've designed it like to add more practically to the email. If the user wishes to check it over without reading in-depth quickly, all they have to do is glance at the bubbles to get a full overview. If they want to find out more information, they can visit the email later and read the more in detail paragraphs at the side. Going forward, I plan to tidy up the email, creating it in its full form and making sure that all the key information is presented correctly. Once I've done that I'll post a follow-up blog with all the details in there. That's all for this blog, Thanks!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page