top of page

Push The Button - Honours Blog 17

Updated: May 4, 2020

Today I've been trying to design the 'Quick Access Button' for the bike. The idea is that these buttons are mounted somewhere accessible on the bike (e.g. the handlebars) so that is the user is in a high-pressure situation they can 'sleep' the blind spot alert and not be distracted. The buttons might also include volume up and down (if the sound is used), Bluetooth pairing, and obviously the sleep and wake button. After some consideration, I decided that the sleep button should be the most prominent and most accessible button on the Quick Access module. None of the other buttons, apart from maybe the volume button, would need to be accessed while out on the bike and the last thing the rider would want in a high-pressure situation is to keep accidentally pressing the wrong button. I decided to place the most prominent button in the centre, surrounded by four other buttons. I'm not entirely sure what these other four are for yet, but if I don't need them/need to add more, it can be easily changed. Here are a few renders I've made of the Quick Access Button, where I see them fitting on the bike and how I hope it'll look once finished. These are not the final designs of the button, just the work I've done today.


(SIDE NOTE: Unfortunately I can't take credit for the CAD motorbike, I downloaded it off GrabCad here: https://grabcad.com/library/cb666-motorbike-1)


There is still quite a bit of design development to do on the quick access button, but I'm pretty pleased with this first concept and how the renders have turned out. To get a proper idea of size I'm going to 3D print the buttons tomorrow morning and hopefully find a motorbike I can clip them on to.


That's all from this blog, a quick one I know but more to follow throughout the week.


Thanks for reading, see you all soon!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page