top of page

Designing a Golf Course - Honours Blog 1

Updated: May 4, 2020

With the first couple of weeks been and gone, most people on the course have ideas, direction and are cracking on with the job at hand. I say most, because then there's me, sitting at my laptop staring at the same design website I was 2 hours ago, hoping that I'll have that eureka moment and all worries will disappear. I'm exaggerating. Thankfully it's not quite that bad yet, but the visions of that happening feel like they're coming closer and closer to reality and I'm doing all that I can to avoid it. Coming up with a 4th-year honours project is a lot harder than I thought it would be. I know that sounds daft, "It's 4th year! Why would it be easy?" but I seem to be met by a creative mind-block every time I think I've got a possible idea. I was venting all this to someone recently, (who doesn't love a good rant) and at the end of it all, they gave me some sound advice, some that I feel I should pass on to others. If you're ever facing creative mind block, writing block, or any other sort of mind fart - go away and design your own crazy golf course. Go mental, make it impossible, design it for the moon if you want to but make sure you don't hold back. This way, you'll have a bit of a break, something fun to do and hopefully overcome the obstacle preventing you from creative brilliance. And with that I'll end this blog - I have a golf course to design.


Cover Photo Image:

Raish, J. (Year) If It's Not Marked It's A Hazard. Available at: https://jasonraish.com/if-its-not-marked-is-it-a-hazard-golf-magazine (Accessed:07/10/2019).


Jason Raish's website: https://jasonraish.com/projects




12 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page