top of page

Got the Hiccups - Honours Blog 11

Updated: May 4, 2020

That's not me in the cover photo of this blog, but it might as well be. The transformer that I ordered from Amazon arrived (link in the last blog), and it works a treat—managed to get the sensors working by turning the voltage from the mains down from 230v to 12v, replicating a car battery. But then hiccup after hiccup. After building a 'car bumper' (a bit of MDF about the height of a car bumper) 2 of the sensors appear to have completely stopped working, one beeps randomly, and the fourth and final sensor is hypersensitive... When I first wired up the sensors downstairs, they seemed to work, but now they have given up, and I honestly have no idea how to get them working again. This presents the question, are the sensors actually broken? Or am I an idiot? Or both? These questions will hopefully be answered in tomorrows blog, and I'm really hoping that it's just me being an idiot. For anyone who's wondering, here is a photo of my 'car bumper' rigged up with the sensors, which are plugged into the transformer.

Super basic I know, but it did the job.


That's all for today, I'll post tomorrow about getting the sensors working.

Thanks.


Cover Photo Image:

Gouw, T. (2016) Man Wearing White Top Using Macbook. Available at: https://unsplash.com/photos/1K9T5YiZ2WU (Accessed:03/02/2020).



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page